JP

1 Message

 • 

72 Points

Wed, Nov 25, 2020 10:33 PM

Closed

Doesn't need answer

Camera Raw: 13.0.2 and earlier / trying to save images

In my normal workflow, I bracket three exterior shots then go in and select the best of the three to work on further. I bring all into Camera Raw and apply my preset, then go through each to decide which of the three to keep from each set. This usually is the first image so I wind up with a file marked for deletion as the last image. Then, in the previous iterations of Camera Raw, I would normally hit CTRL-A to select all of the images and click the save button. Doing that now, the SAVE icon is greyed out and, since there is no longer SAVE button on the bottom (an oversight that is ludicrous in my opinion) I can't save my files. If I hover over an image NOT marked for deletion, then there is a save option that appears and that is a workaround, but this should be fixed to work properly. Alternatively, if I select an image that is not marked for deletion, then hit CTRL-A, the SAVE icon is functional.

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

59 Messages

 • 

1.5K Points

9 m ago

Greetings,

This issue should be fixed in the Camera Raw 13.2 update that went live today. This update includes fixes to some of the top customer reported issues among other bug fixes. See: Fixed issues in Camera Raw

 

To update Camera Raw 13.2, click "Update" in the Creative Cloud desktop app next to Camera Raw. See: More detailed instructions for updating

 

Let us know how it goes.

Thanks,

Akash

518 Messages

 • 

9.7K Points

1 y ago

Added to the list of things marked FUBAR in this brave new world of ACR.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

1 y ago

We've logged a bug for this issue. Thanks for your report. 

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

Engineering has reported back this is As-designed behavior. 

Yes, this currently as designed.  Adobe wanted to have the same enable/disable logic for the "save to" button and the "Save Image->" menu items in the filmstrip flyout/context menu.  Sometimes with filmstrip can be hidden, and it felt really wrong to have a hidden filmstrip, an unsaveable primary image, and the save button enabled at the same time (which would not even save the primary image).

So the logic that we ended up using was the save button/item applies to the primary image, plus whatever secondary selected images that it can be applied to.

This logic is closer to how the edit stack controls work with a filmstrip with both color and monochrome images.  If you have a monochrome image as primary, and a color image as a secondary selection in the filmstrip, we still disable edit controls that only apply to color images.

(edited)

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

518 Messages

 • 

9.7K Points

"We've logged a bug..."  3 months later... "this is as-designed" made me snigger. 

This is my signature.  There are many like it, but this one is mine.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

It happens more often than you might think.  Behavior that appears on the surface - or to some workflows - to be a bug is often revealed to be as-designed behavior. 

If I can duplicate a reported behavior and it seems to be the reasonable appearance of aberrant behavior, I log it. Sometimes, it bounces back as expected behavior. When this happens the bug report is withdrawn.  The alternative is not to file the bug and forever be ignorant of the why...

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

518 Messages

 • 

9.7K Points

My snigger was more that - User has a problem, sees it as a problem.  Adobe agrees there is a problem - asks the engineers to fix it - "nope, that's what we meant and here is why..."  "Oh", Adobe tells users - "Nope, that's how it should be"   14 versions later, behaviour changes, non-bug removed.

Thank you for the explanation. Not grumpy, full of pancake.

This is my signature.  There are many like it, but this one is mine.