brianpex's profile

8 Messages

 • 

158 Points

Fri, May 17, 2019 4:23 PM

Lightroom Classic: User Permissions Issue with latest Update

User Permissions Dialog box pops up when opening LR Classic after the recent update AND the repair option does NOT fix the issue!

To note: I had just completed a CLEAN INSTALL OF MAC OS a few weeks ago and I had the Desktop and Documents folder both syncing with iCloud. Since there is an Adobe folder in the Documents folder, I think this may have caused the permissions issue. Anyway, I stopped syncing and the Documents folder then appeared in my user account but I still had the same issue. I typed the following command in the TERMINAL:

diskutil resetUserPermissions / `id -u`

Type exactly as shown. Then hit enter. It takes a few moments and your permissions are reset. I then restarted LR Classic and all was well!

Responses

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

1 y ago

Bingo!

5 Messages

 • 

148 Points

1 y ago

didn't work for me =\. I recently unsynced those same folders from iCloud, and thats about when my issue started. must be related?

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

1 y ago

ok, going to show my ignorance here, but where is the terminal.  I'm so tired of getting that message every time I open up Lightroom.

It would be helpful if your answer were in the form of, Apple and Lightroom for dummies.

Thanks.  

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

1 y ago

Click on the little Magnifying Glass on the top left of your Mac and type Terminal

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

1 y ago

Thanks!!  I found it on my own by googling, where is the terminal.  I sure appreciate your feedback though! Everything is working.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

10 m ago

I am having this issue, since I wiped my drive and upgraded to OSX Big Sur.

A caveat might be that my Lightroom catalog is stored in Dropbox (so it is synced to the cloud), although this was the case before I wiped/upgraded, without issue previously. I have tried the terminal diskutil command at the top of this thread, to no avail.

One other caveat would be that further to the OSX upgrade, I have added an additional user, whereas before there was just one user (me). The additional user does NOT have admin privileges.

I imagine that LR would only need to read/write inside my home folder "andrewklug", not within the entire user folder. Have included below screenshots of the error message, as well as the info windows for my user folder and home folder.

Thank you in advance for any insights