geoff_faulkner's profile

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

Fri, Aug 30, 2013 8:36 PM

Closed

LIGHTROOM: Editing a photo in Photoshop creates new folder in Library catalog

When I edit a photo in Photoshop coming from Lightroom it seems to always create a new folder in my library. This new folder points to the exact same location that the original folder does, so I can't move the edited photo into the proper folder without first moving it out of the folder and then back in.


Here's the scenario:

1. I store all my photos on an external mapped drive "T:".
2. They are stored in T:\Photographs\[YYYY]\[YYYY-MM-DD] Description\ folders.
3. I find a photo I want to edit and right click, choose Edit In and choose Edit in Adobe Photoshop CC.
4. I make changes to my photo in Photoshop and then choose File, Exit.
5. When asked if I want to save the changes to my photo I choose Yes.
6. I wait for Lightoom to get my change.
7. I discover that the change never shows in the same catalog folder. Instead, Lightroom made a new folder in my catalog under the root of the drive. This folder has the exact same name as the folder where it should belong.
8. If I open the folder in Windows explorer, it takes me to the original folder, and I find my edited photo inside.
9. Since the two folders in Lightroom are actually the same folder, I cannot move this folder at the root into the proper year folder (already exists at this location error). The same for just moving the file into the correct folder.

Is there any way to prevent this behavior? I would expect the edited photo to appear in the same folder in the library as the original photo when editing.

To work around this, I now have to
1. Move the photo out of this folder.
2. Remove the duplicate folder from my Lightroom catalog.
3. Move the photo back into the folder.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

Click on the newly created folder and say "Show Parent Folder" When you get up a level or two, it should take care of its self.

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

8 y ago

Parent folder is already part of the catalog. This is not the way it should be handled. Editing a photo should show immediately with the source photo upon return to Lightroom.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

Did you try what I said?

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

8 y ago

Yes, I have tried that before. It does not work. In fact, I get a database error.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

The word Dropbox in the Error message makes me suspicious.

Are the full paths to the images also residing in your dropbox?

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

8 y ago

Suspicious of what? Dropbox is merely a folder that is on my PC. I terminate the Dropbox synchronization before starting Lightroom so there is no contention for resources or files. Dropbox is merely my backup strategy for a crucial file on my computer. This error has happened to me long before I started using Dropbox to synchronize my catalog and settings.

The full paths to the images are not in Dropbox. In this case they reside on my external T: drive.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

It is just that I have fixed a lot of Lightroom user's issues by moving Dropbox into a place where it can't factor in.

That aside, you have some type of reference issue it seems.

Is it safe to assume you have tried to do a catalog optimization?

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

8 y ago

Yes I routinely optimize the catalog. This is a stubborn issue that has been with me through several versions of Lightroom. It seems to happen quite regularly now, which is why I report it.

Luckily for me I don't often edit photos in Photoshop.

Geoff

2 Messages

 • 

74 Points

8 y ago

same issue - no resolution?

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

8 y ago

No resolution. Sorry, George.

57 Messages

 • 

860 Points

7 y ago

This is still a problem with the latest versions of Lightroom. If I edit photos that are on my network-mapped drive it will create a new folder in Lightroom with the exact same name as the folder that already exists.

The only way around this that I can find is to:
1. Create a _TMP folder where I store my photos.
2. Move the newly created file out of the folder where it resides into _TMP
3. Remove the duplicate folder that Lightroom creates.
4. Move the file back into the folder where it belongs.

Incredibly frustrating when moving back and forth from Lightroom into Photoshop or any other add-in to process photos.

10 Messages

 • 

284 Points

7 y ago

It's still happening with LR 5.7. I encountered this problem for the first time yesterday. Rikk may be onto something with his comment about Dropbox, as the folder that the offending image was in is in my Dropbox. If the problem continues, I may resort to moving an image out of my Dropbox before I "Edit in Photoshop," and then afterwards move both the source image and resulting PSD back into the Dropbox folder.