hemo's profile

8 Messages

 • 

162 Points

Thu, Sep 26, 2013 9:27 PM

Closed

LIGHTROOM: Selection is lost when creating a collection set

After selecting images (for a selection), I often want to create a Collection Set first. When I create the new collection set, my selection is lost.

The back-button in Filmstrip does not bring back my selection, and I have to start all over.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

So, create the Collection first with your selections and then drag it into an existing or a newly created Collection Set.

8 Messages

 • 

162 Points

8 y ago

Thank you for trying to help!
If the user is remembering to do this, the user could just as well create the Collection Set first, _then_ do the selection and use it to create a Selection and place it in the Collection Set.

The problem is that I and many other users do not remember this at all.
We start by selecting images and think to add them to a collection. At that moment the problem of «too many collections» occurs. If I create a collection set instead, I'll group things. Better. I do that. And then the disappointment. What happened to my selection?

I try to go back, to find it again (what else would a "Back" button be there for?).
Again: Disappointment! :-(

I am trying to give the Lightroom developers information on a problem here.
If small things like this were done more intuitive to the user, more people would be able to use the software.

If this is not the right place for suggesting problems being fixed, where should I go?

Champion

 • 

6.7K Messages

 • 

112K Points

8 y ago

Yes, this is the place to put in the request. Rikk was simply suggesting a workaround as these things take time to be implemented.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

Yep. Just suggesting a way to get there if you've gone to far to go back!

8 Messages

 • 

162 Points

8 y ago

Thank you for helping and suggesting!

Has I subitted the request, then?
Might this "error" be fixed in a later update?

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

8 y ago

I have converted this topic from a Problem to a Feature Requests. If enough people support it I am certain Adobe will look at it.

Meanwhile, I would suggest altering your workflow slightly to avoid losing your selection.

149 Messages

 • 

3.3K Points

8 y ago

I agree. I don't think that creating a new collection set should have any effect on your current source and any selected files.

Champion

 • 

6K Messages

 • 

103.7K Points

8 y ago

The Any Source plugin provides a Back command that will take you back to your previous source *and* selection, so if LR does something inconvenient, it's easy to get back to where you were.