david_brown_9e3ek82hh5jy's profile

3 Messages

 • 

100 Points

Sat, Sep 19, 2020 1:35 PM

Updated Import Form

Own up! Who thought the addition of a "Done" button that does nothing helpful next to the Import button (and where the Import button used to sit) was a good idea? If I've hit it once I've hit it evry damned time since it appeared only to groan and start again! Please take it away or move it.

123 Messages

 • 

1.8K Points

1 y ago

Totally agree. Exact same feelings. Maybe put it on the far right.

85 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

I too agree Move it to the Far Right.

128 Messages

 • 

1.8K Points

1 y ago

As you could have read in the release notes, the 'Done' button is usefull if you changed some settings in your Import Panel but don't want to import anything at that moment. The changed settings are then remembered, while earlier you had to import some things to let Lightroom remember the changed settings.

123 Messages

 • 

1.8K Points

We know what it is for. The problem is those of us who have been using LR for any length of time hit it expecting it to start the import, as the left button has done since the beginning. Muscle memory!

644 Messages

 • 

9.7K Points

This new forum software is as bad as what is being used over on the Adobe Community forums.

My reply was to jeff_5193510.

 

I've used Lr since 2007 and since the Done button was added I have NEVER hit it when doing an Import.

But then I actually Look at and READ what is on the screen before I click on a button.

 

In a Short Time you will get use to the Import button being one space to the right and forget you ever posted to this thread.

(edited)

58 Messages

 • 

1K Points

1 y ago

I agree that the Done button -- and the other two buttons in the Import window and the Export windows -- could be labeled and arranged better. But let's not do away with it.

 

The Done button actually comes in handy for some of us. There have been many times when I've gone through and carefully set up an import. I've chosen a destination, a renaming preset and added some keywords, only to realize I had to exit the import to check something else in Lightroom first.

 

In the past, I'd click Cancel and, then, when I came back to Import, I'd have to make all of those settings again. Now, I click Done and it retains those settings so that next time I open the Import window, they are all set and waiting for me. It works the same way in the Export window. Very helpful.

10 Messages

 • 

210 Points

1 y ago

ME TOO!!!!  It is really dumb to change something that a person is accustomed to especially adding something that has no real function.

 

3 Messages

 • 

80 Points

1 y ago

And another frustrated user.

28 Messages

 • 

606 Points

1 y ago

I appreciate the ability to save changes, but the button should be ‘save changes’ and be smaller and in a different position to the original import button. I also had lined up a selection to import and effectively cancelled the action by hitting ‘done’. However I can’t see it being changed now as it will raise more moans.  Hopefully Adobe read these comments and consider changes better in future.