C

2 Messages

 • 

130 Points

Wed, Jan 27, 2021 4:39 PM

Lightroom Desktop: Cloud not saving edits

So anytime I make a edit on Mobile or on Desktop version after closing when it uploads to the cloud, I go to open it later on mobile for Instagram and no edits have been made. And then when I go back to desktop to see. none of my previous edits saved and the image is back to its base.

Responses

Accepted Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

8 m ago

Are you moving to the next image to commit the edits for sync before closing the application?

2 Messages

 • 

130 Points

That seems to of done it, I've never noticed until now that you needed to do that. Thank you

Champion

 • 

3.7K Messages

 • 

61.6K Points

You didn't notice it because it wasn't necessary (and shouldn't be necessary). This is a work around for the bug that causes it.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

It is necessary in the Mobile environment but in the Desktop environment it is not normally - but as Johan says, there is currently a bug in this area.

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

@crywolfphoto @Rikk I have the same issue and already lost a dozen of photo edits. I noticed it for the first time about a month ago when I was traveling and had an unstable internet connection. Same story: make edits on laptop (MacBook), export edited JPEG, quit Lightroom. Next time I open Lightroom my edits are lost. I right this post because I lost the edits 10 minutes ago. I returned back from from underwater shooting, exported photos, selected few for edit, made edits and published them. When I returned back from the next dive and exported new set of photos I noticed that edits I did today are lost. Lightroom literally became useless for me as completely unacceptable when software loses hours of your work.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

8 m ago

From Engineering:

For affected customers, we collect the following info when possible:

1) If LrD is still running and the lost edits image has not been subsequently successfully edited, have them select the lost edits image, go to loupe, then generate a diagnostic log.


2) If LrD has since been restarted, and the image is still in the lost edits state, have them select the lost edits image, go to loupe, and report what shows in the Auto tab of the versions panel.

If the customer has subsequently successfully edited the image, there's not much troubleshooting we can do.

The best case scenario would be a 100% reproducible case

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

@Rikk I have this issue nearly for every other editing session. I lost edits again yesterday. I did edits at home and have a 1Gb internet connection, so there was no chance original file or changes failed to upload due to internet speed. Auto tab shows only one record: "Original".

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

@Rikk That issue is 100% reproducible. I just intensionally tried to upload new photo, make changes and close app right after the edits are done. Start Lightroom again and edits are lost. There is no indication that something is not in sync. App is not telling that data will be lost after closing the app due to not saved changes. I tried to do it 5 times with different time intervals after edits - and each time I keep loosing edits. Btw, I have no idea what you mean by "go to loupe, then generate a diagnostic log" which loupe, can you be more precise with instructions?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

Loupe is the view (not Grid) where you see the larger version of the image. 

Diagnostic Log: 

For LrDesktop

  • Go to Preferences
  • Account Section
  • Hold down the [Opt/Alt] key to make [Diagnostic Log] button appear.

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

@Rikk thanks, I created the log. What should I do next with it? How to pass it to dev/qa team?

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

@Rikk any updates? Lightroom is working terrible on my iMac, it's literally not syncing any changes to the cloud unless I explicitly create a version. Is there any way to address the issue directly with customer support instead of going through user groups and forums?