conradmb's profile

13 Messages

 • 

204 Points

Sun, Mar 8, 2020 9:09 AM

Closed

Acknowledged

Lightroom Desktop: Sharing to Portfolio: "Photo not synced" Error Message

When I try to share a photo or album to Adobe Portfolio I get the error message: "Photos not synced. Original photos must be synced to the cloud before
publishing."

I get this error when I try to add the photo to an existing project in the Share to Adobe Portfolio dialogue box. If I add the photo as a "new project" is accepted. But again, if I select an existing project I get the error.

For albums, I get this error when I right-click on the album and select Share>Adobe Portfolio.

Same thing for photos and albums when I select the Share icon in the upper right of the screen.

I know all photos and albums are synced to the cloud - confirmed in the LR website, so I don't understand this error.

Please advise.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

2 y ago

I am not able to replicate what you are seeing Conrad.

Does this go away with a restart of Lightroom? A restart of the computer?

If you haven't yet you may want to reset your preference file:

A Preference File will survive a Lightroom uninstall/reinstall. Sometimes weird behavior is corrected/cured by resetting the preferences.

Reset Procedure:
1. Close Lightroom.
2. Hold down [Alt/Opt]+[Shift] while restarting Lightroom.
3. Overwrite the Preferences when prompted by the dialog.
4. Close Lightroom.
5. Restart Lightroom.

Does the  issue continue after resetting the preferences?

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 y ago

I experience the same problem Conrad. Think it might have something to do with folks storing a local copy of the original and storing one in the cloud.

@Rikk See issue and steps described here: https://community.adobe.com/t5/lightroom/adding-lr-images-to-portfolio-photos-not-synced/td-p/10998233?page=1
Hope this will help with reproducing the issue.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

2 y ago

I am not able to produce this following the steps described elsewhere. 

Did you try the reset procedure mentioned above?
Have you installed the 3.2.1 update? 

13 Messages

 • 

204 Points

2 y ago

Yes. I've reset the program described above. Also, I've unchecked storing a copy of the originals on the local drive And I do have 3.2.1 installed. (I'm having other issues with that version that I'll not address here.)
Having said that, I still get that error message at times.  I'm not getting consistent results. I'm still trying to understand what conditions trigger that error. 
Even if I'm eventually able to share photos with Portfolio without getting that error message, I would still consider this a functional discrepancy. One should not have to choose between storing originals on the local drive and integrating with Portfolio.

9 Messages

 • 

62 Points

@Rikk I am getting this issues as well. Trying to publish to Portfolio photos that have been synced 100%.

 

As was mentioned, this only happens when trying to add to an existing Portfolio Collection. Adding to a new Portfolio Collection works fine.

 

This issues is also intermittent but it happens more often than not.

 

Restarting LR\resetting etc did not fix the issue, is there a way to get this resolved - am not able to sync to Portfolio

 

PS - I think your instruction are for LR Classic - we are talking about CC (also they are for Mac only...)

(edited)

9 Messages

 • 

62 Points

1 y ago

Steps to reproduce:

 

1. Select an image Share To > Adobe Portfolio

2. Create new Collection

3. Image gets uploaded and is visible in Adobe Portfolio

4. Select a different image and Share To > Adobe Portfolio > Select previously created Collection

 

Getting this error every time, even though everything is synced:

 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Lightroom Desktop: Sync Error to Adobe Portfolio from Lightroom

9 Messages

 • 

62 Points

PS - if you do this from the web version the problem does not happen.

12 Messages

 • 

248 Points

My understanding is that this is a "feature" of Portfolio. You have to update manually each collection in Portfolio when you change the collection - Edit Portfolio -> Pages -> Reset from Lightroom. This is tedious but it is the only method I have found for keeping my LR collections up-to-date in Portfolio. In my opinion there should be a setting to allow automated syncing of each collection with Portfolio.

 

If anyone knows of a better solution please let us know.

9 Messages

 • 

62 Points

Im not sure we are talking about the same thing.

 

I want to add a new photo to a collection and LR wont let me do that - its not a sync issue because the photo never gets added to the Collection in LR in the first place.

9 Messages

 • 

62 Points

BTW - another observation - when I do a "Resend" from the Sharing -> Adobe Portfolio in LR i get the same error message.

 

13 Messages

 • 

204 Points

I have the same experience.  I contacted Tech support a while back and they said it may be because I store copies of originals locally. ("Store a copy of all originals at a specific location." checked in preferences.) I don't know about that and I don't want to give that up just to have a more seamless Portfolio integration in Lr. The function just doesn't work properly and it's something Adobe needs to address.  The work around is what @roman mezhibovski  says. Do your Lr-Portfolio integration on the web. No errors and less confusing. 

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

8 m ago

The most frequently occurring problem, whenever I want to share photo from the album to a portfolio connected, the error message showing 'Original photos must be synced to the cloud before publishing', even though photo is synchronized and no process pending shown on the sync icon. This is causing lot of inconvenience and the very purpose of building own portfolio easily from Lightroom CC albums is not served through the creative cloud subscription with this frequent error.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Lightroom Desktop: (Portfolio) Sync Error

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

7 m ago

This issue continues to persist a year later. Is it something that is going to be addressed? Currently the only workaround seems to be to uncheck "Store a copy of all originals. [..]" in the application's preferences.