cees_wouda's profile

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Thu, Dec 8, 2016 11:46 AM

Lightroom mobile: Cannot select sharing service (Android)

When I want to share a picture from my Lightroom Mobile on Android I can select the sharing service only once. The next time it will not give me anymore the window to select a service and it will switch immediately to the service I used the previous time. 
It is possible to reset the apps preferences, but this only works once and it has a lot of horrible side effects in other apps. 
Cees

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

5 y ago

I am not able to reproduce this. It seems to be working on my device. Can you get us the model of your device and the current Android OS version you are using?

8 Messages

 • 

176 Points

5 y ago

I have exactly the same problem - Samsung Galaxy A3 and Android version 6.0.1

Thommy

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

5 y ago

When I share from Lightroom for mobile on Android, I get the option to choose Once or Always at the bottom of the Services dialog. If I choose Once, I get the option to choose a different option the next time.  Are you seeing this choice? 

8 Messages

 • 

176 Points

Hi Rikk

I don't have anything else than the different options like Whatsapp, Instagram and so on, to choose from. No "Once" or "Always" option to be found.

Thommy

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

5 y ago

hi Rikk, thanks for giving it attention!
In my case it is Samsung S5 Neo, with Android 6.0.1  
I do not remember exactly if I got the 'Once' option, but I would certainly would not have chosen the 'Always'. After resetting all app preferences and sharing once with Lightroom mobile on Instagram I am back to the situation that after pressing 'Share' with a picture, Lightroom mobile agian gives nog choice for choosing a service and moves the picture directly to Instagram. 
I prefer not to go through the cycle to repeat the 'reset app preferences' because of the disastrous effect on all other apps. 
Cees

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

5 y ago

And btw there are more people having this problem, there are threads on the Adobe forum, like this one: https://forums.adobe.com/message/8994357#8994357
The 'solution' given there is the reset of all apps preferences, as said, this is no solution. 

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

5 y ago

The solution is to select the [Just Once] option in the Android dialog each time you share and not to select the [Always] button. If you select [Always], the only way to restore behavior is to reset your App preferences. This is a limitation of the Android Mobile Operating System.

If you've inadvertently set this, you will need to reset your app preferences and then remember to use the [Just once] button.  

If after you've reset, you are not presented with the option, then we will need to see some screen captures from your device. 

8 Messages

 • 

176 Points

Here is how it looks on my phone after reset. The 2 first screen only but the rest looks the same. Swedish text "Slutför åtgärden med" means "Complete the action with"



15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Thanks Thommy for posting the screens.
Same sequence for me, after resetting all apps preferences, there is no intermediate step to select 'Once' or 'Always'. 
What I can report in addition is that on a Samsung tablet, also running Android 6.0.1 I do get the choice Once or Aways. 
Cees

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

5 y ago

Are you sure there no option to reset only the Lightroom app? I hate to reset all apps because of the additional work. But if this is the only way I will do it.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

5 y ago

We have an update from one of the engineers who says that if you are experiencing this problem, you have reset the specific preferences of the App you choose. ie. Facebook, Instagram, etc. 

It is not necessary to reset the Lightroom for mobile (Android) app preferences or universal preferences.  

Can you try this and confirm whether or not it works on your hardware?

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

5 y ago

First.. there no option to reset preferences of a specific app. And secondly, if Lightroom uses Instagram as default without notice, would I have to reset Instagram preferences each time I have used it? This does not make sense to me. Regards, Cees

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.9K Messages

 • 

143.5K Points

5 y ago

Clarification: 
Preferences was a bad choice of wording on my part.
Clear Defaults app settings by going to Settings>General>Default Applications 
Tap on the [Clear] beside Instagram. 
I just tested and it works fine for me on my Samsung Tablet. 

As this is an Android operating system functionality and not Adobe, I would refer you to either your device manufacturer or Android OS support for further queries. 

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

5 y ago

Pls clarify. In Settings I have no choice for 'general'. I can choose 'applications' but then Instagram not visible under 'standard applications'. It is one of the options after selecting 'application management' but then there no 'clear settings' option.

8 Messages

 • 

194 Points

5 y ago

This is still a problem with Android 7.0.  While I understand that everyone @Adobe is pointing the figure at the Android OS, it would be nice if someone could come up with a fix other than doing the App Setting Reset.

15 Messages

 • 

284 Points

5 y ago

What do you know.. since yesterday the problem is gone. I can now choose from all relevant apps after pressing the 'share' button in the Lightroom app.  I think there has been an update of the Lightroom app on Android, there certainly was no general Android update. Aparently Adobe has silently accepted that it had to solve something and did it. That's nice, but it would have been much more polite if Adobe had accepted it publicly and had not pointed at Android as the cause of the problem. 

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

5 y ago

I still have this problem.  Android.  Every time I want to share to a different service I have to clear the defaults for that service from the application manager.  I share to Whatsapp for my friends and family that have it, then to Message+ or Gmail for others.  Clearing the defaults every time is really annoying.

2 Messages

 • 

90 Points

4 y ago

Me too on a Nexus 2 Android Oreo 8.1, I never set it as "always" use a specific app just installed it first time I try to share with it. If I wait for a while an error message "network has timed out please try again later" (same with WiFi or cell). Also the "Use cellular Data" is enabled but grayed out in general Lightroom preferences.

May be it's related?