vikireed's profile

4 Messages

 • 

102 Points

Tue, May 25, 2021 4:32 PM

Closed

PS CC 2021 more bugs without fixes after most recent update

2021 PS, CC updated this week and bugs not fixed

windows 10 PC, gamer graphics card, plenty of RAM

Also use LR CC 2021 but not the cloud version only .

I run a lot of actions.

Typically, you run an action and it's written so that the action has a mask you paint away or paint on.  The Foreground/Background color palettes have always had the correct color (either black or white on the foreground) after running all of my actions for ten years.   Through all of PS iterations, this has never changed.

Now, every time I run an action, the foreground color is never correct.  If I need a black foreground, it's white, and vice versa.  

So I have to set that foreground with every action I run.  It's not deadly but when you edit 100s of photos in a week, it DOES slow you down.

The other issue is that if I ran an action (tried and true professionally verified and updated actions and rando deviant art freebies alike) and didn't like how it looked, I could just click on the action's layer and hit the DELETE key and it would go away.
NOW, when I hit delete, only part of that action folder goes away and a SECOND DELETE CLICK is required to make the Action and it's layer go away.  

When using Camera Raw Filter-SO FAR...choosing a COLOR PROFILE;  you are totally unable to select any profiles beyond the 3 you can see without scrolling down.

If you scroll down, the second you lift your wacom pen or mouse from your tablet or mouse pad, the scroll bar rips back to the top.  YOu cannot see or select more than what is evident without scrolling.  All attempts to scroll down result on the menu's scroll bar tearing up to the top like a broken window shade.  

It does not matter if you open folders, you will only see the partial contents of whatever Profile folder you open, scroll down to see more, the scroll bar rips up again.

I have been shown there is a 'save a copy' option in the File drop-down menu. It is the ONLY way to save in jpg now unless you stop to flatten every single edit before saving.  Again, seems petty but when you edit over 200 pix a day, that is absolutely a time-waster and carpal tunnel stressor.  This option makes zero sense.  If it's to save users from 'accidentally' losing layered files then who are they thinking of as the end-user?  I make snapshots in history or save copies or save on the regular.  This breaks-up a single function of file saving into two separate menu options.  

Currently every time there's an update or major problem with PS, I lose my actions palette.  Sometimes it reverts to default, sometimes entire chunks of editing categories in no order disappear.  

Why don't they add a 'SAVE PALETTE' separate menu option?  This is where we need one.

How about move the REVERT TO ORIGINAL button be moved far away from the SAVE AS Button in PS? I can't tell you how many times i've had to undo an undo because those two menu items are stacked side by side in the FILE menu.

If any one has ideas re the CAMERA RAW editor scroll issue, that would be great.  

I feel like this is the kind of issue that a PS Tech will not know about or have info about.  

3 Messages

 • 

92 Points

8 m ago

I have been shown there is a 'save a copy' option in the File drop-down menu. It is the ONLY way to save in jpg now unless you stop to flatten every single edit before saving.  Again, seems petty but when you edit over 200 pix a day, that is absolutely a time-waster and carpal tunnel stressor.  This option makes zero sense. 

I completely agree with this sentiment. This is a pointless extra step when editing and saving photos. A major waste of time and energy.  The entire point of SAVE AS is that you are saving the file as a different format. Not being dictated to which formats those should be just because you have layers in your work. If it is to stop people from losing work, isn't that what the pop-up about saving your work when closing a file is for?

I have backed up to 22.3.1 to remove this latest update and will remain there. (These are the reasons I absolutely hate this entire subscription app thing instead of buying time tested stable releases once and done. These constant updates and changes make the software almost unusable at times. Even Microsoft is smart enough to offer the subscriptions or the option to buy it once and done.)

(edited)